Secretariat of the Agreement on the Conservation of African-Eurasian Migratory Waterbirds

AEWA is an intergovernmental treaty dedicated to the conservation of migratory waterbirds and their habitats across Africa, Europe, the Middle East, Central Asia, Greenland and the Canadian Archipelago. Migratory waterbirds covered by AEWA include cranes, storks, pelicans, flamingos, ducks, geese, waders and swans.

Developed under the framework of the Convention on the Conservation of Migratory Species of Wild Animals (UNEP/CMS) and administered by the United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP), AEWA brings together countries and the wider international conservation community in an effort to establish coordinated conservation and management of migratory waterbirds throughout their range.

Head of Organization

Dr. Jacques Trouvilliez
Executive Secretary of the Secretariat of the African-Eurasian Migratory Waterbird Agreement (UNEP/AEWA)

Visit our website

Contact information

Postal Address

UNEP/AEWA Secretariat
UN Campus
Platz der Vereinten Nationen 1
D-53113 Bonn, Germany
Phone: +49 (0)228-815 2413
Fax: +49 (0)228-815 2450
Email: [email protected]

Latest News