A-Z Site Index

2023 Call for Nominations for the UNESCO-Bangladesh Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman International Prize for the Creative Economy


Deadline: 10 December 2022

UNESCO launches the second Call for Nominations for the 2023 UNESCO-Bangladesh Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman International Prize for the creative economy.

Established in 2021 with generous support from the Government of Bangladesh, the prize of US$ 50,000 awards exceptional initiatives of an individual, institution, an entity or non-governmental organization which/who, devised and delivered innovative projects or programmes that promote youth entrepreneurship, in the creative economy.

Today, the creative economy is a driver of innovation and value creation, employing more young people and women than any other sector, with the potential to stimulate sustainable and inclusive development globally. While COVID-19 hit the creative industries hard, the creative economy remains among the fastest growing sectors worldwide, accounting for 3.1% of GDP and 6.2% of all employment.

Nominations must be submitted by the governments of UNESCO Member States, in consultation with the National Commissions for UNESCO, and other relevant stakeholders.

MoTIV Creations Limited of Uganda, an integrated creative studio that provides tools and training for young entrepreneurs in the creative industries, was awarded the inaugural Prize in 2021.


Additional links:

More from our Engagement Hub

Latest news from the Hub