Call for Entries: 2024 UNESCO Asia-Pacific Awards for Cultural Heritage Conservation


Deadline: 30 June 2024

The UNESCO Asia-Pacific Awards for Cultural Heritage Conservation (‘Awards’) recognizes exemplary efforts by individuals and organizations in the region to restore or conserve structures, places or properties of heritage value. By bringing to public attention such distinguished achievements, the Awards programme seeks to foster best practices and inspire others to undertake similar projects within the region’s diverse communities, whether property owners choose to pursue conservation projects independently or through public-private partnerships.

Since 2000, the Awards programme has recognized 290 winners from 27 Asia-Pacific countries for their thorough understanding of their sites; their sound technical achievements; and the significant social and policy impacts of their projects at the local, national and regional levels. By recognizing these practices, the Awards programme has helped to advance a regional conversation about what constitutes cultural heritage, who has a stake in its thoughtful stewardship, and how cultural heritage can contribute to the sustainability of cities, societies and the environment.

Eligibility Criteria

Projects must have been completed within the last 10 years (February 2014 – June 2024 if pre-existing use was retained, or June 2023 if a project is for a new use). Houses, commercial and institutional buildings, historic towns and villages, archaeological sites and cultural landscapes, for example, are all suitable for submission.

How to Apply

Entries are required to be submitted via the online form before the deadline. There are two types of entry forms depending upon which category the submitter is applying to: the Conservation category and the New Design category. Submitters should ensure that they are applying to the correct category prior to submitting their entry. In addition, the project dossier containing all supporting documentation, including a description of the project in the official, requisite format, and drawings and photographs in hard and soft copy formats should be posted to UNESCO Bangkok by mail and postmarked no later than 30 June 2024. 

To Apply for the 2024 Awards and for relevant resources, please visit: Apply for #HeritageAwards


The deadline for the receipt of all materials is 30 June 2024.

Selection of Winners

Winners are selected by the Awards Jury through a deliberation process that evaluates the project submissions based on the Awards Criteria. Jury members, composed of 5 to 7 international conservation experts, and a Jury Chair are appointed annually by UNESCO based on their geographical representation and areas of expertise.

Winners will be announced in November 2024 according to the following categories (each category may have multiple winners in any given awards cycle)*: Award of Excellence; Award of Distinction; Award of Merit, Award for New Design in Heritage Contexts, and Special Recognition for Sustainable Developmen


Additional links:

Updates from the Hub