Deadline: 15 July 2021

Promoting Education for Sustainable Development (ESD) is considered critical to ensure quality of education for achieving the Sustainable Development Goals.

UNU-IAS has recently announced an open call for applications for the ESD Okayama Award 2021. The award recognises outstanding Education for Sustainable Development (ESD) practices in local communities around the world and aims to support organisations involved in ESD activities to promote ESD in local communities by showcasing their initiatives on a global level. The award selection committee consists of six leading organisations in ESD, including UNU-IAS and UNESCO Bangkok.

Okayama City launched the ‘ESD Okayama Award’ in 2015. The ESD Okayama Award is organized by Okayama City and the ESD Okayama Award Steering Board, composed of organizations which have been promoting ESD in Japan and around the world.

Eligibility: Organisations based in any country implementing ESD activities in local communities.
Number of Award-Winning Projects: Up to two projects Prize: US $3,000 per project
Deadline for Applications: 15 July 2021, 17:00 JST
Award Ceremony: The scheduled date is 20 November 2021.

Please note that one representative from the winning project(s) will be invited to the ceremony in Okayama, Japan to give a presentation. Whether this ceremony will be held in-person or online is to be decided.


Additional links:

Updates from the Hub