General Assembly “deplores” Russia´s actions against Ukraine

The General Assembly stands for a moment of silence during the first plenary meeting of the eleventh General Assembly Emergency Special Session on Ukraine. At dais are, from left to right: Secretary-General António Guterres; Abdulla Shahid, President of the seventy-sixth session of the United Nations General Assembly, and Movses Abelian, Under-Secretary-General for General Assembly and Conference Management (DGACM).

The United Nations General Assembly today voted a resolution, in which it „deplores“ Russia´s military actions against Ukraine. The attack is „a violation of the territorial integrity and sovereignty of Ukraine and inconsistent with the principles of the Charter,“ the resolution states.

The resolution was passed with 141 votes yes, 5 no, and 35 abstentions. The resolution needed a two-third majority of yes/no votes to pass.

Ninety-six Member States co-sponsored the resolution, including all five Nordic countries.

China and India were among the member states which abstained. Belarus, Eritre,  North-Korea, Russia and Syria voted against.

The Secretary-General says he will be guided by the resolution

“The General Assembly has spoken. As Secretary-General, it is my duty to stand by this resolution and be guided by its call,” the UN Secretary-General António Guterres told reporters after the vote.

“The message of the General Assembly is loud and clear:  End hostilities in Ukraine — now. Silence the guns — now. Open the door to dialogue and diplomacy — now.”

The resolution also condemns the decision of Russia to increase the readiness of its nuclear forces.

The special session was mandated by a 27 February vote in the Security Council, following its failure to adopt a resolution condemning the Russian Federation’s recent actions in Ukraine.