A-Z Site Index

International Union of Architects (UIA) 2030 Award: Second cycle launch

Deadline: 12 April 2024

The International Union of Architects (UIA), in collaboration with UN-Habitat, announced on Monday the launch of the second cycle of the UIA 2030 Award. This biennial award promotes the work of architects contributing to the delivery of the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development together with the New Urban Agenda. The deadline to ask questions is 5 February 2024. The deadline for application is 12 April 2024.

The first cycle of the award gathered 125 projects from 40 countries and the final results were announced on 28 June 2022 in Katowice, Poland, during the World Urban Forum (WUF11).

Synchronized with the World Urban Forum (WUF), the award invites all architects around the world to submit entries for built projects that demonstrate design quality and have made significant contributions towards achievement of the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs).

The award will be run in two stages. Stage 1 submissions will be assessed on a regional basis, reflecting each of the five UIA Regions. Between one and three regional finalists in each award category will go to Stage 2. The location of the project will determine the region in which it is to be assessed.

The selection of built projects that demonstrate design quality and have made significant contributions to the SDGs will fall under six new categories:

  • Good health and well-being;
  • Adequate, safe and affordable housing;
  • Access to safe, accessible, and sustainable public transport;
  • Access to green and public spaces;
  • Adaptation to climate change and resilience to disasters;
  • Promotion, restoration and sustainable use of ecosystems.

The deadline for Stage 1submissions is 12 April 2024. Results will be announced during the World Urban Forum (WUF12) which will be held in Cairo, Egypt, from 4 to 8 November 2024.


Additional links:

More from our Engagement Hub

Updates from the Hub