Deadline: 14 June 2024

The nominations for the 2024 Women’s International Network for Disaster Risk Reduction (WIN DRR) Leadership Awards are now open! Nominate yourself or others by 14 June 2024 for:

  • The Rising Star Award (US$ 7,500): Granted to an individual woman who has demonstrated leadership potential early in her disaster risk reduction career.
  • The Excellence Award (US$ 10,000): Granted to an individual woman who has achieved exceptional professional success in disaster risk reduction. This award is sponsored by SM Prime Holdings.


The WIN DRR Leadership Awards celebrate and recognise women’s achievements in disaster risk reduction across the Asia-Pacific region. The awards are part of the United Nations Office for Disaster Risk Reduction (UNDRR) flagship women’s leadership initiative, WIN DRR, supported by the Government of Australia.

WIN DRR is a professional network to support women working in disaster risk reduction and is open to all. To join, please complete this short form.

The 2024 WIN DRR Leadership Awards will be presented during the Asia-Pacific Ministerial Conference on Disaster Risk Reduction (APMCDRR) from 14 to 17 October 2024 in Manila, the Philippines.

Eligibility for the awards

Nominations for the 2024 WIN DRR Leadership Awards are encouraged from across the WIN DRR network and the broader disaster risk reduction community. Individuals can nominate themselves or others by completing the nomination form (see link below) by 14 June 2024. Nominees must identify as women and be citizens or permanent residents of Asia-Pacific countries, who are working on disaster risk reduction across the Asia-Pacific region. For the purposes of the awards, those countries include: Afghanistan, Australia, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, China, Democratic People’s Republic of Korea, Fiji, India, Indonesia, Iran (Islamic Republic of), Japan, Kiribati, Lao People’s Democratic Republic, Malaysia, Maldives, Marshall Islands, Micronesia (Federated States of), Mongolia, Myanmar, Nauru, Nepal, New Zealand, Pakistan, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Philippines, Republic of Korea, Samoa, Singapore, Solomon Islands, Sri Lanka, Thailand, Timor-Leste, Tonga, Tuvalu, Vanuatu and Viet Nam.

People who are currently or who have previously worked as staff for UNDRR or the Australian Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade (DFAT) are not eligible for the awards, though they are able to nominate others. People who are currently contracted with UNDRR in any capacity (e.g. as an intern, consultant or UNV), and people who are working for organisations that are currently contracted or receiving a grant from UNDRR are also ineligible.


Additional links:

Updates from the Hub