Deadline: 18 November

About the United Nations Public Service Awards and Day

The United Nations Public Service Awards is the most prestigious international recognition of excellence in public service. It rewards the creative achievements and contributions of public service institutions that lead to a more effective and responsive public administration in countries worldwide. Through an annual competition, the UN Public Service Awards promotes the role, professionalism and visibility of public service.

UN Public Service Day intends to celebrate the value and virtue of public service to the community; highlight the contribution of public service in the development process; recognize the work of public servants, and encourage young people to pursue careers in the public sector. Since the first Awards Ceremony in 2003, the United Nations has received an increasing number of submissions from all around the world.

Apply for the 2021 UNPSA

The 2021 United Nations Public Service Awards (UNPSA) is now open for nominations in the following categories:

  1. Fostering innovation to deliver inclusive and equitable services for all including through digital transformation
  2. Enhancing the effectiveness of public institutions to reach the SDGs
  3. Promoting gender-responsive public services to achieve the SDGs
  4. Institutional preparedness and response in times of crisis

The UNPSA is an annual Awards programme that recognizes excellence in public service at the local, regional and national levels. It promotes and rewards innovations and excellence in public service in support of the achievement of the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) and the principle of leaving no one behind. Public institutions at the subnational and national levels of all UN Member States are eligible to apply. In the case of public-private partnerships, the lead candidate must be a public sector institution. The deadline for submitting nominations is November 18, 2020. To apply, click here.


Additional links:

Updates from the Hub