Deadline: 21 April 2023

UNESCO has launched the call for nominations for the 2023 UNESCO-Japan Prize on Education for Sustainable Development (ESD).

The UNESCO-Japan ESD Prize, funded by the Government of Japan, consists of three annual awards of USD 50,000 for each recipient. It was awarded for the first time by the Director-General of UNESCO in November 2015.

ESD develops learners’ knowledge, attitudes, values and actions to be able to meet urgent present global challenges like climate change and create a better future for all. By shining a light on great examples of ESD, UNESCO and Japan hope to inspire organizations, individuals and governments to encourage sustainability in learners.

The Prize and award winners recognize the role of education in connecting the social, economic, cultural and environmental dimensions of sustainable development. It was established by the Executive Board of UNESCO at its 195th session within the framework of the Global Action Programme (GAP) on ESD and officially announced at the UNESCO World Conference on ESD (10-12 November 2014, Aichi-Nagoya, Japan).

Who can be nominated?

Institutions, organizations or other entities engaged in Education for Sustainable Development (ESD). Nominations must focus on a specific ESD project or programme of the nominee, meeting the eligibility criteria.

Who can submit nominations?

Nominations can be submitted to the Director-General of UNESCO by Governments of Member States via their Permanent Delegation to UNESCO, and by Non-Governmental Organizations (NGOs) in official partnership with UNESCO. Each Permanent Delegation or NGO can make up to three nominations for any edition of the Prize. Self-nominations are not accepted.


Additional links:

Updates from the Hub